

Children's Identity and Citizenship European Association Inaugural Meeting held on Saturday 27 May 2006 at the University of Latvia, Riga.

# Minutes

The inaugural meeting was attended by 75 CiCe members, who have all signed the register of attendance (attached). Alistair Ross [UK] was in the Chair. Apologies for absence were received from Ian Davies [UK], Akos Gocsal [HU], Mary Koutselini [CY], Adam Niemczynski [PL], Riitta Korhonen [FI] and Arja Virta [FI]. All of these members had indicated their assent to the formation of the Association.

## **Resolution 1**

That this meeting establish an Association, to be called the **Children's Identity and Citizenship European Association.** 

**Resolution proposed by:** Panayota Papoulia-Tzelepi [Panepistimio Patron, GR] **Resolution seconded by:** Christine Roland-Levy [Université Rene Descartes: Paris V, FR]

The meeting members discussed whether the title of the Association should be 'Children's Identity and Citizenship European Association' or 'Children's Identity and Citizenship in Europe Association' as these names have different implications for the Association. A vote was cast on the suggested names, 18 people voted for the name 'Children's Identity and Citizenship in Europe Association' and 41 people voted for the name 'Children's Identity and Citizenship European Association'.

**Outcome**: Resolution 1 passed; all voters agreed, with no votes against or abstentions.

## **Resolution 2**

That this meeting adopt the attached draft Constitution as the **Constitution** of the Association.

**Resolution proposed by:** Elisabet Näsman [Uppsala Universitet, SE] **Resolution seconded by:** John Lalor [Dublin City University, IE]

**Outcome**: Resolution 2 passed; all voters agreed, with no votes against or abstentions.

## **Resolution 3**

That this meeting adopt the attached draft Standing Orders as the **Standing Orders** of the Association.

**Resolution proposed by:** Márta Fülöp [Eötvös Loránd Tudományegyetem, HU] **Resolution seconded by:** Tozun Issa [London Metropolitan University, UK]

*Outcome:* Resolution 3 passed; all voters agreed, with no votes against or abstentions.

## **Resolution 4**

That this meeting adopts the **Schedule for Inauguration** for the Association

**Resolution proposed by:** Richard Etienne [Université Paul Valéry Montpellier III, FR] **Resolution seconded by:** Sandra Chistolini [Università degli studi Roma Tre, IT]

**Outcome**: Resolution 4 passed; all voters agreed, with no votes against or abstentions.

The Executive committee of the Association therefore became: Alistair Ross [UK], Søren Hegstrup [DK], Marta Fulop [HU], Julie Spinthourakis [GR], Riitta Korhonen [FI], Christine Roland-Levy [FR], Beata Krzywosz-Rynkiewicz [PL].

## **Resolution 5**

That this meeting accept the proposals for interim Treasurer and Secretary made by the Association's Executive Committee.

The Executive Committee proposed Julie Spinthourakis [GR] for the role of Secretary and proposed Anne Marie van den Dries [BE] for the role of treasurer.

**Resolution proposed by:** Soren Hegstrup [Hindholm Socialpædagogiske Seminarium, DK] **Resolution seconded by:** Kristin Dyrfjord [Háskólinn á Akureyri, IS]

*Outcome*: Resolution 5 passed; all voters agreed, with no votes against or abstentions.

## **Resolution 6**

That this meeting instruct the Association's Executive Committee to:

**a** Arrange for the registration of the Association as a Registered Charity under English law.

**Resolution proposed by:** Maria Villanueva [Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona, ES] **Resolution seconded by:** Beata Krzywosz-Rynkiewicz [Uniwersytet Warminsko-Mazurski w Olsztynie, PL]

*Outcome:* Resolution 6a passed: all voters agreed, with no votes against or abstentions.

**b** Arrange for the Association to open a bank account

**Resolution proposed by:** Justin Rami [Dublin City University, IE] **Resolution seconded by:** Maria Schuh [Pädagogische Akademie des Bundes in Wien, AT]

**Outcome:** Resolution 6b passed: all voters ageed, with no votes against or abstentions.

**c** Arrange for the registration of Members of the Association, corporate and individual

**Resolution proposed by:** Maria Luisa Freitas [Universidade do Minho, PT]

**Resolution seconded by:** Panayota Papoulia-Tzelepi [Panepistimio Patron, GR]

**Outcome:** Resolution 6c passed: all voters agreed, with no votes against or abstentions.

**d** Arrange for an election of a president elect, to take office from the time of their election, and to assume office as President from September 1<sup>st</sup> 2008, to serve as President for a term of two years, and then to become past-president for a term of a further two years.

**Resolution proposed by:** Otto Stoik [Pädagogische Akademie der Diozese Linz , AT] **Resolution seconded by:** Necmi Aksit [Bilkent Universitesi, TR]

*Outcome:* Resolution 6d passed: all voters agreed, with no votes against or abstentions.

## **Resolution 7**

That this meeting adopt the proposed Initial Schedule of Membership Fees

The meeting was informed that the Executive Committee are proposing an amendment to the individual membership fees, so that the minimum fee is €30 and the maximum fee is €100. The revised fee will include subscription to the CitizEd/CiCeA joint journal 'Citizenship Teaching and Learning'. The revised rates are proposed as follows:

Salary	Individual membership fee
<15,000 euro	30 euro
15,000 - 19,999	40
20,000 - 24,999	50
25,000 - 29,999	60
30,000 - 34,999	70
35,000 - 39,999	80
40,000 - 44,999	90
>45,000	100

Revised individual membership subscription rate

*Resolution proposed by:* Nanny Hartsmar [Lärarutbildningen Malmö högskola, SE]

**Resolution seconded by:** Rob Foster [Edge Hill University College, UK]

**Outcome:** Resolution 7 passed: one abstention, no votes against, all other voters agreed.

### **Resolution 8**

That this meeting instructs the Executive to investigate the establishment or adoption of a Journal, and to make necessary agreements and arrangements.

**Resolution proposed by:** Susana Gonçalves [Instituto Politécnico de Coimbra, PT] **Resolution seconded by:** Miquel Angel Essomba [Universitat Autònoma

de Barcelona, ES]

*Outcome:* Resolution 8 passed, all voters agreed, with no votes against or abstentions.

### Date of next meeting

The first general meeting for Association members will take place in Montpellier, France in May 2007.

This is a true record of the meeting

Alistair Ross (President), Anne Marie van den Dries (Treasurer), Julie Spinthourakis (Secretary) for the Executive Committee.